almond bread.

I love a good cup of tea! I may be holding one in one hand right now, while I type with the other… Okay, I am doing exactly that, and it’s getting a bit tricky and this going to take WAY too long… Better put the cup down I guess! I’m not one to try each and every type of tea out there, so I guess I am a bit of a traditionalist when it comes this particular drink. English Breakfast is definitely my favourite. But, I did get a mixed pack of T2 teas from my Aunty for my birthday, and I can’t wait to try them all out. Ooh, and I want to experiment more with iced tea too. It looks so pretty in a coloured jug, filled with ice and large chunks of strawberry and pineapple. Okay, now my mind is wandering a bit. Let’s get back on track!

Being a bit of a sweet tooth, I must admit that having a biscuit just makes my cup of tea that bit better. Wow, I’m starting to sound a bit like an old lady, aren’t I?! Ah well. I like tea with biscuits. There…I said it. It is just so comforting to curl up on the couch at home with a hot mug of tea in one hand, and a sweet treat in the other.

As we are well and truly into the new year now, our Christmas goodies are starting to dwindle, so the amount of sweet treats to choose from has lessened somewhat (but don’t worry, we ALWAYS have chocolate in the house!). The other day, as my Mum was making me a cup of tea and I wondered what I would like to have with it, it finally hit me…we still had almond bread! A couple of days before Christmas, I had made almond bread and sat it in a container in the cupboard. With so much else going on and so much other food around, the poor ol’ almond bread had been forgotten. Although I did feel a bit sorry for it, I knew that I was going to enjoy it so much more now!

I’m not quite sure what it is about almond bread, but I love it. It’s mostly crisp and crunchy, with the almond pieces popping up here and there providing a slightly softer texture. It’s sweet, but not too sweet (well, assuming there is such a thing as ‘too sweet’…some people tell me it exists). I think I may have first tried it when my Grandma bought some from a market once, and I have enjoyed eating it ever since. It’s not something that I have very often, so I decided that Christmas was a good excuse to make some (note: it also looks really pretty wrapped up as a foodie gift!). And you know what…almond bread is low in fat, so it is a relatively guilt-free treat!

CC_Doodle Border 11

Almond Bread
Recipe adapted from Best Recipes

3 eggs whites
1/2 C caster sugar
1 C plain flour
200g whole almonds

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
2. Beat egg whites in a glass bowl with an electric beater until soft peaks form.
3. Add sugar gradually and beat until dissolved.
4. Fold in sifted flour and almonds.
5. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 minutes.
6. When cold, wrap loaf in foil and leave for 2 days.
7. Cut into very thin slices (use an electric knife if you have one, otherwise use a very sharp knife, as it is very difficult to cut).
8. Place slices in a single layer onto oven trays and bake at 150 degrees Celsius for 35 minutes or until dry and crisp.

Almond bread will keep for at least a month in an airtight container.

Print Button

CC_Doodle Border 11

As long as you leave yourself the couple of days needed to prepare the loaf for the second stage, almond bread is really quick and easy to make.

Happy baking!

Name

10 responses to “almond bread.

  1. great recipe! I’ve always said Id make biscotti some day but have never got around to it. This recipe will be perfect to give it a whirl. And its good to know it will last a few weeks too!

  2. Pingback: First Summer Ice Cream « Go Bake Yourself·

  3. Pingback: First Summer Ice Cream·

Comments:

