musk melts.

I have fond memories of musk lollies. Well, I guess I have a lot of fond memories when it comes to lots of different foods really…but they are stories we can save for another time! When I was younger, my Grandma would always have a container full of musk sticks in the highest cupboard in her kitchen, and I loved having one or two of them when I waited for lunch on Sunday (oh the good ol’ days when we had a roast for lunch EVERY sunday!). And you know the mini musk lollies? Just like the mini florals, but all of them are PINK and all musk flavoured. My Great-Nan always used to keep a container of them hidden away, up nice and high in her kitchen too. Why were they always out of my reach? Okay…I guess I understand.

I’m not quite sure what it is, but musk seems a little bit magical to me. Maybe it’s the light pink colour, combined with such a light and pretty flavour. It almost has a bit of an ethereal quality to it. If fairy dust had a scent, you know I’m quite sure it would smell like a super sweet musk.

A little while back, while browsing through Pinterest (which I LOVE to do!…it is a reaaaaaally good procrastination technique) I came across a recipe for old-fashioned butter mints by Averie Cooks (I love Averie’s blog, and have shared one of her recipes before, Peanut Butter and Oatmeal White Chocolate Cookies…so yum!). As soon as I saw them, I was thrown back further into my lolly memory-bank, but this time the memories weren’t so clear cut. But, what I could remember, was having these lollies once upon a time…popping them into my mouth and feeling them softly crumble before melting away.

I loved the idea of making butter mints (hence pinning it as soon as I saw it!), but when I saw that Averie had made some pretty pink butter mints as well as green, this is when the inspiration began. Averie had suggested using different essences, so surely by replacing the peppermint with musk, I could make my own musk lollies! It was time to get creating.

CC_Doodle Border 11

Musk Melts
Recipe adapted from Averie Cooks

1/4 C butter softened
1/4 tsp salt
3 1/4 C icing sugar
1/3 C sweetened condensed milk
1/2 tsp musk flavouring
Pink food colouring

1. Combine butter and salt in a bowl and beat for approximately 1 minute on medium-high speed.
2. Add icing sugar, condensed milk, musk and a few drops of food colouring, and beat on a medium speed until a dough forms. If the dough seems a bit wet, gradually add more icing sugar until it combines. The dough should be crumbly, but when you squeeze some together it should hold.
3. Taste the dough, and if you would like a more intense flavour, add more flavouring. If you require a deeper pink, add a few more drops of colouring. Mix with the beater.
4. Place a golf ball sized amount in your hands and roll out into a thin long cylinders about 1cm wide.
5. Place the cylinders on your bench top (or large cutting board) and carefully cut with a knife or pizza cutter into pieces approximately 1cm long.
6. Store musks in an airtight container in the refrigerator where they will keep for weeks.

HINT! Drizzle some milk chocolate on top to add even more yumminess.
HINT! Before I stored my musk melts in the refridgerator, I left them uncovered in room temperature for an hour or two, just to dry them out slightly and make them that little bit sturdier.

Recipe yields approximately 180-200 small musk melts.

Print Button

CC_Doodle Border 11

These little pink pretties just love to melt away in your mouth. The condensed milk and butter make them so smooth and creamy. And just like the good ol’ days, it’s really hard to stop at eating just one of these. Well, they are teeny tiny, so I’m surely it’s perfectly okay to have five or so at a time.

My family loved them. In fact, I may have heard them be referred to little drops of heaven…(any Friends fans out there?! The episode where Monica makes candy, or ‘little drops of heaven’, for her neighbours during the holiday season…oh I love that show!).

A great idea for kids parties, packaged up as to give as a gift, and just as perfect to sit in a lolly jar at home.

Enjoy!

Name

If you would like to check out what else I have been pinning on Pinterest, just click here!

12 responses to “musk melts.

  1. Glad you tried the mints and so glad you like them! And thanks for the nice things you said about my blog & glad you tried those cookies, too. They’re one of my faves! Your mints are gorgeous – so pale, pastel, and just so beautiful!

  2. I have never heard of musk candy. What does it taste like? Very pretty photo, the candies look lovely!

    • Thank you so much Paula! Ooh, how to describe the taste of musk…that’s a tricky one! I instantly want to say it’s a very musky flavour. Hehe. Musk sticks are really popular here in Australia…It’s a very floral flavour, and with these particular candies, the butter really comes though and adds a bit of a creamy taste too :)

    • Hi Sarah! If you live in Australia, most cake decorating stores should sell musk flavouring (or perhaps a store like Spotlight?). If you live outside of Australia or New Zealand, it may be a bit harder to find because the flavour is not quite as popular. Hope that helps! :)

Comments:

