melting moments.

Do you ever have one of those days when you finally sit down at the end of it, and a hot drink just isn’t enough of a treat? It isn’t quite what you want. I mean, coffee always seems that much better with chocolate on the side, and a cup of tea is extra comforting accompanied by a biccie.

So, as I sat down with a nice hot cup of English Breakfast tea the other afternoon, it just didn’t feel right. It was one of those days. I needed a biscuit. There were packets of biscuits in the cupboard, but I really felt like something homemade. Something that would crumble and melt in my mouth. Something sandwiched together with buttercream.

And I knew just how to rectify that problem. Baking was instantly put on my to-do list for the following day. Melting Moments, of course.

Melting Moments are a little bit like Monte Carlos. Remember the ones that I made a little while back? Apologies…I may have carried on a little bit about tea and biccies in that one too. It just supports my point really…tea is so good with a biscuit!

Anyway, Melting Moments and Monte Carlos, I guess they can be classified as cousins. Monte Carlos contain coconut, making them that little bit sturdier. Whereas Melting Moments do just as their name suggests. They melt in your mouth.

I have made melting moments a couple of times before, but they have never been as melting-ish moment-ish as I like. The recipes I have tried previously used custard powder, but what makes these ones a little bit different to those is that they contain cornflour instead. This time, I certainly found the right recipe. They were just how I hoped they would be.

CC_Doodle Border 11

Melting Moments
Recipe from Women’s Weekly Old Fashioned Favourites

For the biscuits
115g unsalted butter
1 tsp vanilla essence
2 Tb icing sugar
3/4 C plain flour
1/4 C corn flour

For the buttercream
30g butter
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
1/2 C icing sugar
1 tsp milk

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
2. Beat cream, essence and sifted icing sugar in a bowl with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.
3. Stir in the sifted flours.
4. Take a small teaspoon (not heaped) of mixture, roll in your hands to make a ball and place on a lined baking tray. Dip a fork in plain flour and use this to slightly flatten the ball of mixture.
5. Continue with the rest of the mixture, placing biscuits about 5cm apart.
6. Bake in oven for approximately 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool on trays.
7. To make the icing: beat the butter, essence and sifted icing sugar in a small bowl until light and fluffy, and beat in enough milk to make mixture spreadable.
8. To assemble biscuits: join two biscuits together with the filling.

Recipe yields approximately 18 small sandwiched biscuits.

Print Button

CC_Doodle Border 11

Have I tempted you enough? Go on. Try one with a nice big cup of tea.

Name

23 responses to “melting moments.

  1. Ohhh my goodness I would definitely not say no to one of those right now! I think I might put them on my To Bake list! Also, I love the polka dot plate : )

  2. Hopping over from your guest post at Uru’s. You have a beautiful blog, Carla!! Love this melting moments and its’ PERFECT with tea :)

  3. Hi, Carla! I came by to say “hello” after your guest post on Uru’s blog and these caught my eye… thought they might be lemon, too (ala your lemon curd cupcakes), but even better.. they contain corn flour! That’s a staple item where I live (Oklahoma) — but I’ve never used it (or seen it) in a dessert before! THANKS for a new way to incorporate corn flour into my goodie basket. :) Great guest post, too!

    • Wow, I’m so glad to have been able to provide a dessert recipe for you to use! You were nearly right in thinking that they were lemon also, as sometimes I add a little bit of lemon juice to the frosting…that is yummy too! Thank you so much for popping over for a visit, via my guest post. I really appreciate it! :)

  4. The Melting moments look fantastic! I posted them too recently. Your blog is filled with sweet things I love. Glad to have found this space:-)

    • Thank you so much! I just popped over for a look at yours, and they (as well as your blog) are absolutely beautiful! And strawberry too…what a great addition. Thank you so much for your lovely comment :)

  5. Pingback: and the nominees are… | eat sweet. by carla sue·

Comments:

