cake batter pudding cookies.

Not long ago, while looking around on Pinterest I came across the recipe for Cake Batter Pudding Cookies by Chef in Training. Not only did I like the bright and colourful look of the cookies, but I loved the idea of making cookies using cake batter AND pudding mixture! I had been meaning to make these cookies for quite some time, but was just waiting for the right occasion to arise. And this week, it did! I was invited to a friend’s place for dinner, so I told her that I would be more than happy to provide the treats. My friend is currently not eating chocolate (and this is by choice…such craziness!), so I had to think of something to make that didn’t have chocolate in it…trust me, this is quite tricky. But, cake batter pudding cookies were the perfect answer!

I must admit, one of the reasons that it had taken me so long to try these out was the fact that the recipe I wanted to follow had used ingredients that I wasn’t familiar with, including instant vanilla pudding mix and yellow cake mix. But, it was time to do some research and experimenting! I headed off to the supermarket and quite easily found the instant vanilla pudding mix (Cottee’s), but wasn’t quite sure about the yellow cake mix. I had googled yellow cake mix, trying to find an Australian alternative, but struggled to find a definitive answer. After pondering over the many different boxed cake mixes, and with my mum’s help, we decided that golden butter cake mix was the best one to use. I followed the recipe step by step, and was really happy with how the cookies turned out!

While waiting for the last batch to cook, I decided that I would add some icing, just a simple mixture of icing sugar and water, so that the icing would set hard. With a piping bag, I added a little squiggle of the icing just to snazz them up a little bit.

Cake Batter Pudding Cookies
Recipe adapted from Chef in Training

For the cookies
3/4 C butter
3/4 C brown sugar
1/4 C sugar
1 (3.4 oz) packet of instant vanilla pudding mix, dry
3/4 C  golden butter cake mix, dry
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla essence
1 tsp baking soda
2 1/4 C plain flour
1/2 tsp salt
Sprinkles

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
2. Stir together flour, salt and baking soda and set aside
3. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars together.
4. Add in pudding package and cake mix and beat until well blended.
5. Add eggs and vanilla and mix until smooth.
6. Add flour mixture slowly until well incorporated.
7. Mix in sprinkles.
8. Roll in teaspoon size balls and place on a baking paper lined tray.
9. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes.

For the icing
1/2 C icing sugar
Water

1. Gradually add a couple of drops of water at a time to the icing sugar until the correct consistency is achieved.
2. Decorate your cookies!

You know what? These cookies were a hit with my friends! My ‘non-chocolate eating’ (once again…crazy, i know!) friend only got to eat one, they were gobbled up that quickly! Oh well…guess this means I will just  have to make them again!

Carla Sue xo

One response to “cake batter pudding cookies.

  1. Pingback: peanut butter cup(cakes) & a happy 1st birthday to eat sweet! | eat sweet. by carla sue·

Comments:

