jersey caramel chocolate cupcakes.

I love to bake lots of different things, but I must admit that I have a bit of a soft spot for cupcakes! There are just so many different possible combinations to experiment with, and I have so much fun deciding what colour cases I want to use and how I want to decorate them. It’s so much fun making them look all pretty, and then displaying them in my cupcake tree! These particular sweet treats have a gooey caramel centre with a fluffy vanilla buttercream frosting.

The idea for Jersey Caramel Chocolate Cupcakes was born after I discovered a chocolate cupcake mix in our pantry one day. While I usually like to make my cupcakes from scratch, I wasn’t about to waste a perfectly good mix! I had been craving jersey caramels for a couple of days, so once I had a packet of these, I was set for an afternoon of baking! If you decide to use your own recipe or a cupcake box mix like I did, either way these cupcakes are super simple to make special.

Jersey Caramel Chocolate Cupcakes

1 packet of chocolate cupcake mix
1 packet of jersey caramels

1. Follow the directions or recipe for a chocolate cupcake mix (your choice!)
2. Half fill the cupcake cases, making sure that you keep enough mixture to top them all up.
3. In each cupcake centre, place a jersey caramel. Using the remaining mixture, fill the cases to approximately 3/4, making sure that you cover the jersey caramel.
4. Bake as directed, and then cool.

Then it’s time to decorate! (This is my favourite part, other than the eating!) I used a vanilla buttercream frosting as a contrast to the dark chocolate colour of the cupcake, and placed a small slice of jersey caramel right on the top to give a little hint as to the surprise that’s inside!

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

100g unsalted butter
2 tsp vanilla essence
Icing sugar

1. Beat the butter and vanilla, gradually adding icing sugar until the icing is the consistency that you desire (make sure that it is going to be thick enough to hold its shape on the cupcake!).

And there you have it! Jersey Caramel Chocolate Cupcakes. Once you bite into the cupcake you are met with light cupcake, fluffy frosting, and a delicious gooey and chewy caramel centre. As an alternative, rather than ice the cupcakes, serve them straight out of the oven with a scoop of icecream, and watch the caramel ooze!

Carla Sue xo

19 responses to “jersey caramel chocolate cupcakes.

  1. Pingback: Delicious caramel surprise vanilla cupcakes via the Eat Sweet blog « the hungry mum·

  2. Pingback: Jersey Caramel Chocolate Cupcakes « The Best Cupcake Recipes·

Comments:

