sugar stars.

It’s one of those things I can’t really explain, but I have always loved sugar cubes! Was it the fact that as a littlie, it was kind of exciting to eat a cube of pure sugar? Maybe! So, the other day while I was at home and had nothing to do, I decided it was about time I made my own. Sugar stars are super simple to make, but super cute too! Wrapped up beautifully in some clear cello with a piece of twine or ribbon, or even placed in a nice jar, they would make a sweet little gift to give to someone special.

Sugar Stars

Castor sugar
Water
Food colourings
Silicone mould (for these ones I used a star shaped mould, but a heart shaped one would be perfect to use for special occasions like valentines day)

1. In a small glass bowl, place one to two tablespoons of sugar (depending on how many cubes you want to make of each colour) and add one drop of your chosen food colouring. I chose to make these sugar stars nice and bright, but by adding the food colouring using a toothpick, you can control the colour and create pretty pastel colours too.
2. Very slowly, add several drops of water at a time, stirring until the sugar mixture is the consistency of wet sand.
3. Place the mixture into your chosen mould and leave to dry overnight.
4. Once the stars are dry, they will be nice and hard, and you can pop them straight out of the silicone moulds.

See! I said it was simple!

Now, I hear you asking ‘what can I use these sugar stars for?’. I had a bit of fun with mine, adding them to cups of tea to watch the colour ‘magically’ change from it’s usual golden milky tones to a pretty purple or pink. They also make great decorations to use to top cakes and cupcakes, or you could keep them in a jar to use as a cute little kitchen display. Use your imagination…it’s up to you!

Carla Sue xo

9 responses to “sugar stars.

    • Little ones would look pretty on cupcakes, wouldn’t they? They certainly hold their shape well (they set hard like sugar cubes), but I’m not sure how long their colour would stay nice and bright…it wasn’t long before they were all used in my house!

  1. Those stars look so pretty! I would love to make a ton of these if I only could find the right mould!
    I’ve tried searching the net, like on ebay and such. But all I can find is too large and too harsh star moulds with too sharp edges! :/ I would like the stars to be almost as small as regular sugar cubes and cute, smooth edges like yours in the picture!
    You don’t happen to know where I could find similar moulds, do you? //Enthusiast from Sweden~

    • Thank you for your comment and your interest in my sugar stars! I luckily happened upon this particular mould at a discount store. Moulds like these can often advertised as ice cube moulds, or sometimes even chocolate moulds, but I decided to think outside the square a little bit. I have seen similar moulds at IKEA before, so that may be a good place to check? Hope that helps! All the best in your hunt! :D

      • Thank you so much for your response! :D I couldn’t find any at IKEA unfortunately but I will continue my hunt! Or else I will just have to settle with the best I can find :)

Comments:

