peanut butter brownie cookie sandwiches.

Okay. So it’s official. I’m addicted to peanut butter.
Peanut butter on toast…love! Peanut butter M&Ms…love! Peanut butter and cookie dough in vanilla icecream…LOVE! (I tried the Ben and Jerry’s one a little while back…oh my goodness!) Oh, and I can’t forget peanut butter on oreos. And peanut butter cups. The list goes on and on. See, I told you I was a little obsessed.

For my last birthday, my mum got me a years subscription for the Donna Hay Magazine. Such a great present! I love hanging out for the postman to come, and looking through each issue to mark what recipes I want to try next. So when I came across this recipe in the 10th Birthday Collectors Edition (there are so many brownie recipes in this issue that I’m sure I will be using it again very soon!), I knew it with something I HAD to make.

There was a slight problem though. I know…I know. You must be thinking how can there be a problem with brownies and peanut butter involved?! You see, when I bake, I love to make yummy treats for my family that they will all enjoy, but my younger brother believes that peanut butter should only be eaten on toast and celery…’it’s a savoury food, not a sweet food!’. I completely disagree, and keep trying to change his mind (I even showed him an episode of Nigella). Slighty annoying, but that’s what brother’s are for, right?! But this was an easy problem to solve…it just called for a bit of tweaking to make everyone happy.

Peanut Butter Brownie Cookie Sandwiches
Recipe from Donna Hay Magazine, 10th Birthday Collectors Edition, Issue 59 OCT/NOV 2011

For the brownie cookies
350g dark chocolate, chopped
40g butter
2 eggs
2/3 C (150g) caster sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 C (35g) plain flour, sifted
1/4 tsp baking powder, sifted

For the frosting
1 C (160g) icing sugar
1 C (280g) smooth peanut butter
80g butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 C pouring cream

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
2. Place 200g of the chocolate and the butter in a small saucepan over low heat and stir until melted and smooth. Set aside.
3. Place the eggs, sugar and vanilla in a bowl and whisk with an electric mixer for 15 minutes or until pale and creamy.
4. Stir through the flour, baking powder, chocolate mixture and remaining chocolate and allow to stand for 10 minutes.
5. Spoon small teaspoons full of the mixture onto baking trays lined with non-stick baking paper. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until puffed and cracked. Allow to cool completely on trays.
6. To make the peanut butter frosting, place the icing sugar, peanut butter, butter and vanilla in a bowl and beat with an electric mixer for 6 minutes or until light and fluffy.
7. Add the cream and beat for a further 2 minutes.
8. Spread the half the cookies with the peanut butter frosting and sandwich with the remaining cookies.

Recipes yields approximately 12 cookie sandwiches.

The brownie mixture will be quite runny, and will spread once in the oven. So make sure that when you place the small teaspoon amounts on the baking tray, that there is plenty of room between each one (I had six on each tray).

What did I do to keep my brother happy? Rather than sandwiching all of the cookies with the peanut butter frosting, I also made some chantilly cream, and used this for the remaining cookies. And you know what? This was just as yummy too!

So, can I add these peanut butter brownie cookie sandwiches to my list of peanut butter obsessiveness? Most definitely! The slight bitterness of the dark chocolate works beautifully with the sweet and creamy peanut butter frosting. My nan is a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup fan, and she loved these. And if you want to be really naughty, cut one up into smallish pieces, and use as a mix-in with vanilla icecream. Yum? Yes!

Carla Sue xo

8 responses to “peanut butter brownie cookie sandwiches.

Comments:

