white chocolate monte carlos.

Winter has officially hit, and living in Tassie means that it can get fairly cold! If you are reading this in the northern hemisphere, it must be strange for you to think of it being cold in June, but it is hard for me to imagine having Christmas in Winter! I am yet to decide on which season I like the best (you would think I would have made a decision by now!), but with the cold comes lots of things that I love…snow on Mount Wellington; wearing hoodies, scarves and mittens; watching my brother play footy; and having LOTS of hot drinks. Now, I’m not sure if it’s just me, but how much better can a hot drink be when it is accompanied by a lovely sweet treat?! (I’m thinking chocolate, cookies, cupcakes…any of these really…)

I kind of go through phases with hot drinks, alternating my ‘favourite’ between tea, coffee, hot chocolate or vanilla chai. But the flavour of the month here is definitely tea…with lots of milk and sugar! So this afternoon, I ventured into the kitchen with the aim of making something yummy to have with my cups of tea. The answer hit me instantly…Monte Carlos!

Monte Carlos are an Australian biscuit first made by Arnotts in 1926…and yes, they are named after the European city (Why? Sorry, I have no idea!). In my opinion, Monte Carlos are the best possible biscuit to have with a cup of tea…they are buttery, creamy and fruity, AND perfectly dunkable.  The monte carlo is two sweet coconut biscuits sandwiched together with raspberry jam and frosting. They are quite similar to melting moments, and beautifully crumble and melt when you put them in your mouth.

This particular recipe is one that I have used since I was in high school, but today I felt like playing around with it a little bit. Rather that using buttercream icing, I decided to make them extra special and use a flavour that goes perfectly with raspberry…any guesses? White chocolate of course! And I can safely say, it was a good decision to make.

White Chocolate Monte Carlos

For the biscuits
185g unsalted butter
1/2 C brown sugar
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla essence
1 1/4 C self raising flour
3/4 C plain flour
1/2 C coconut

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
2. Cream butter and sugar in a bowl until light and fluffy.
3. Add egg and vanilla. Beat well.
4. Sift in flours, and add coconut. Mix until combined.
5. Roll teaspoons full of mixture into balls and place them evenly spaced on a tray lined with baking paper.
6. Flatten each ball with a fork (dip the fork in plain flour to prevent it from sticking to the mixture).
7. Bake for 10 – 15 minutes.

For the filling
Raspberry jam
40g unsalted butter
80g white chocolate, melted
2 Tb thickened cream
1 C icing sugar

1. In a small bowl, beat butter until light and fluffy.
2. Gradually add the melted white chocolate two to three teaspoons each time, beating well.
3. Add the cream. Beat well.
4. Gradually add the icing sugar, beating well after each addition.
5. Using two cool biscuits, spread the frosting on the flat side of one, and raspberry jam on the flat side of the other. Sandwich together.

Recipe yields approximately 24.

I think it’s time to go and put the kettle on…

Carla Sue xo

8 responses to “white chocolate monte carlos.

  1. Pingback: melting moments. | eat sweet. by carla sue·

  2. Pingback: melting moments. | eat sweet. by carla sue·

  3. Pingback: 16 Tasty Twists On Classic Aussie Treats | GossipViews.com·

  4. Pingback: Jeobox – 16 Tasty Twists On Classic Aussie Treats·

  5. Pingback: 古典的なオーストラリアの楽しみの上の16のおいしいねじれ | これからの最新ビジネス特集!儲かるかも?·

  6. Pingback: 16 Tasty Twists On Classic Aussie Treats | Super Sexy SEO·

  7. Pingback: 16 Tasty Twists On Classic Aussie Treats | Viral Camera·

  8. Pingback: 16 Tasty Twists On Classic Aussie Treats - Viral Tunnel·

Comments:

