red velvet cake.

Are there any Masterchef fans out there?! Well, while watching Ben and Emma compete in the elimination cake bake-off on Thursday night, I exclaimed out loud, ‘I want to make a cake!’. So all of a sudden, I knew exactly what my plans were for the next morning. And yes, I was glad that Ben got through…he is Tasmanian!

Now, just to set the scene a little bit and to tell you a little bit more about me, I have two brothers. Brother number 1 is 20, and brother number 2 is 16. Brother 2 almost likes baking as much as I do (I love it when he makes Mars Bar Ravioli!), but brother 1 rarely ventures into the kitchen. Although, both of them quite happily partake in eating the goodies that I make! As I was sitting there on Thursday night, deciding on what type of cake I wanted to make, Brother 1 said to me ‘I can help you if you like?’. Well of course I was going to take up that offer!

I very quickly decided what cake I wanted to make. I have never tried Red Velvet Cake, let alone made it, but this unknown made me want to make it all the more! Red Velvet Cake is made using buttermilk, which believe it or not, is something that I have never cooked with before (except for the shaker buttermilk pancake mixes, but I’m not sure that really counts). The buttermilk when combined with self raising flour or baking soda creates aeration, resulting in the cake being light and fluffy!

My brother and I had lots of fun making it, and I really enjoyed teaching him about something that I love doing (and as a teacher, well…I pretty much love teaching and learning in general!). The recipe requires adding bicarbonate of soda to vinegar, so watching it all fizz up was one of our favourite bits! Our other favourite part is probably really easy to guess…the eating of it of course! The Red Velvet Cake, which is fluffy and moist, when teamed with cream cheese frosting creates something really special.

Red Velvet Cake ~ eat sweet. by carla sue

Red Velvet Cake
Recipe adpated from taste.com.au

For the cake
180g unsalted butter, softened
1  1/2 C caster sugar
2 tsp vanilla essence
2 eggs
2  1/2 C self raising flour
2 Tbs cocoa powder
250ml buttermilk
1 Tb white vinegar
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1 tbs red liquid food colouring

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Grease and line the bases of two 22cm round cake pans with baking paper.
2. Use an electric mixer to beat the butter, sugar and vanilla in a large bowl until pale and creamy.
3. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
4. Add the flour, cocoa powder and buttermilk, in batches until well combined.
5. Add the vinegar, bicarbonate of soda and food colouring and stir to combine.
6. Spoon mixture evenly among the prepared pans. Use the back of a spoon to smooth the surface.
7. Bake in a preheated oven for 25-30 minutes or until a skewer inserted into a centre of the cakes comes out clean.
8. Remove from oven. Set aside for 5 minutes before turning onto a wire rack to cool completely.

For the frosting
340g cream cheese
60g butter
2-3 C icing sugar
2 tsp vanilla essence

1. Use an electric mixer to beat the cream cheese and butter until creamy.
2. Add the vanilla essence, gradually adding the icing sugar (keep adding this until the achieve the consistency you would like).

To assemble the cake

1. Place one of the cakes on a serving platter. Spread approximately 1/4 of the cream cheese mixture over the top.
2. Sandwich with remaining cake.
3. Spread top and sides of cake with remaining cream cheese mixture.
4. Decorate with your choice of sprinkles.

Recipes yields 12 generous slices.

The cake was a success! And, I also had another win in making this cake. I’m not sure if you remember this from my Peanut Butter Brownie Cookie Sandwiches post, but Brother 2 doesn’t like ‘savoury food pretending to be sweet food’. So when I told him that this cake had a cream cheese frosting, he very quickly turned up his nose and asked me to scrape if off for him! I know, I know…I told him that he was asking me to take away the best part. I asked him to just try a little bit, and you know what? He loved it. Win!

Carla Sue xo

11 responses to “red velvet cake.

    • Oh, i’m so glad that you asked! It is really simple, but REALLY delicious. It is pieces of mars bar placed between two small pieces of sheet puff pastry, joined together on all edges to look like ravioli. Then all you have to do it bake it in the oven! I might have to get my brother to do a guest post :)

Comments:

