toffee pops.

Every year at my primary school we celebrated Heritage Day…I used to LOVE this day! Not only did we all get to dress up in heritage clothing that we got to show off in a parade, but the day was full of activities! The festivities each year would begin with bush games, which included the Grade 5 Hobby Horse Cup, followed by a ceremony including maypole dancing and the singing of Australian songs. But the best bit was yet to come…the fair! There were so many things to do and see at the fair. Cooking damper, watching the blacksmith make horse shoes, grinding flour in the mill. But one thing I can clearly remember doing each year is buying toffees to eat from the sweet store.

I guess this is where my love for toffees began. And, the fact that my mum loves them too…so perhaps it is genetic?

So, the other day after spending the whole morning at home, I was more than ready to play around in the kitchen in the afternoon. I always have a stash of lollipop sticks at home, just incase I decide to make a batch of cake pops, so I thought: why not try to make toffee pops!

This certainly involved a little bit of experimentation, but I had so much fun doing it! I tried making the toffee into pops by placing the lollipop sticks in the cupcakes cases before pouring the toffee in. But, as the toffee was so hot and runny, this failed miserably. After almost giving up on the idea of toffee pops, I had one last attempt. And guess what…this time, it was successful! (Don’t worry, I’m not keeping the secret to myself! It’s all in the recipe below).

Toffee Pops ~ eat sweet. by carla sue

Toffee Pops
Recipe adapted from Frankie Magazine Sweet Treats

1 Tb unsalted butter
2 C caster sugar
1 Tb white vinegar
3/4 C water
Sprinkles
Mini cupcakes cases
Lollipop Sticks

1. Pop the mini cupcake cases into a mini muffin/cupcake tray.
2. Put all the ingredients into a heavy-bottomed, medium saucepan and stir over low heat until all the sugar has dissolved.
3. Increase the heat to medium and boil without stirring until mixture reaches 150 degree Celsius (hard crack stage). To prevent sugar crystallising, brush down sides of pan with a wet pastry brush.
4. Take the mixture off the heat and pour into the mini cupcake cases.
5. Top with your choice of sprinkles and leave the toffees for approximately 5 minutes, allowing them to begin settting.
6. While the toffees are still soft enough to mould with your fingers, use the pointy end of a skewer to pierce a hole in the side of the toffee, and then insert a lolly pop stick (this step may mean that your toffees get a little bit squished, but as they are still warm, you should easily be able to return them to their original shape).
7. Let set at room temperature until cool (approximately 45 minutes).
8. Store in an airtight container in a cool, dry place.

Recipe yields approximately 16 toffee pops.

These cute little pops would be great for a kids party (well, I would make them for my own party, not matter how old I was turning!), and would make pretty little gifts wrapped up in some clear cello with a piece of ribbon. But really, they are perfect for the exact purpose that they served for me…a sweet afternoon treat!

Name

14 responses to “toffee pops.

  1. Awwww these are the cutest!!! We don’t celebrate heritage day at my high school but I used to in primary :)
    These do bring back good memories!

    Cheers
    CCU

  2. Sugar rush!!! I love how you’ve put those toffees on sticks! It’s a brilliant idea and your pics with the sprinkles & confetti definitely make me think of a fun fair! Too cute…

Comments:

