chocolate raspberry bites.

My final (wuhoo!!) semester for uni has begun, which COULD mean that I have less time for baking, and I guess in a way this is kinda true. But as baking is something that I find relaxing and well, extremely enjoyable, I always find some time to squeeze in a chance to make something yummy. Okay, and sometimes I guess I use it as a procrastination technique (or procrastibaking as my friends says!), but surely we are all guilty of that.

So this weekend, after a week of steadily working through my learning materials, I decided it was time to be a chocolatier for the afternoon. Everyone in my family LOVES chocolate covered raspberries (both the fruit version and the lolly version), and during special times of the year like Christmas, we can be found covering Allen’s Red Frogs in Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate (go on…try it!). So with this in mind, and the fact that I had some leftover raspberry lollies from another baking project, chocolate raspberry bites were born!

The difference between these and just the regular chocolate covered raspberries (as yummy as these are) is that these bites are covered in a chocolate fudge. I got out my Mum’s recipe for chocolate fudge, and just tweaked the amounts a little bit, and I was really happy with how it turned out! The result was a moldable, creamy and smooth chocolate that was super easy to use to cover the raspberries. Using the fudge once set was relatively mess free, so making these would be something easy and lots of fun to do with kids.

Chocolate Raspberry Bites

220g chocolate (Cadbury Dairy Milk is my favourite to use!)
40g unsalted butter
1/2 can sweetened condensed milk
1 packet of raspberry lollies (or you could use fresh raspberries too!)
Handful of white chocolate melts
Red food colouring

1. In a microwave safe bowl, melt the 220g of chocolate, butter and condensed milk on a low heat in a microwave.
2. Once all of the ingredients are combined, spoon the fudge into a baking paper lined tray and flatten and smooth with a spatula or knife (to make the fudge easier to work with later, I split the mixture between two slice trays and spread it out with a knife until it was a thickness of approximately 1/2 cm).
3. Set fudge in the refridgerator (this takes approximately 1 hour).
4. Once the fudge is set, cut off a piece large enough to cover one raspberry. Use your fingers to work and soften fudge and then mould it around the raspberry.
5. Using your hands, roll the fudge covered raspberry in your hands to ensure it is evenly covered and to create a smooth finish. Repeat with the remaining fudge mixture.
6. In a small microwave safe bowl, melt the white chocolate melts in a microwave. Once smooth and melted, stir in a few drops of red food colouring.
7. Place the chocolate in a piping bag, or sandwich bag with a small hole cut in the corner, and use to decorate the fudge raspberry bites.

HINT: I added two drop of red food colouring to the chocolate, but decided that it wasn’t red enough so added two more drops. Adding this little bit more completely changed the chocolate and it hardened and went crumbly. If this happens, just add a small dash of vegetable oil and milk, and stir well. This should fix it!

Print Button

In other news, but of course still baking related…I was extremely excited (maybe a little TOO excited) to find these while grocery shopping this morning…

CARAMEL BITS! I have been looking longingly at all of the different flavoured chips available in the US (butterscotch, peanut butter), wishing that I had stocked up on things like this when I was there a couple of years ago. But now we have caramel ones in Australia! (I’m hoping that peanut butter ones won’t be toooooo far behind). I can’t wait to use them in some cookies, and I’m sure there are plenty of other ways they can be put to good use. Hmmm…I might just have to break the bag open for a taste test.

Name

23 responses to “chocolate raspberry bites.

  1. OMG your bites look so delicious and addictive! I go for strawberries usually but raspberries are fine too ;)
    And I stocked up and went on a buying frenzy for the caramel bits – FINALLY! It’s all I could do to not rip open the bag and eat them all ;)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Oh wow, I love strawberries too! Another favourite of mine. Actually…most fruit is pretty good with chocolate!
      And I thought that you would share in my excitement about the caramel chips! After all this time :D I can’t wait to get baking with them!

  2. These look goooood! But how did you get your raspberry so gooey in the middle, is that a lollie did you say? sorry, haha ;)

  3. Pingback: chocolate caramel sundae cupcakes. « eat sweet.·

Comments:

