cadbury peppermint cheesecake.

The end of August saw the end of my birthday cake duties for the year in my house (well, that is unless I want to make my own birthday cake!). I have had a heap of fun making cakes this year, and as they are something that I haven’t had a great deal of experience with (I tend to stick with cupcakes as I find them much easier to work with than a massive cake), I have learnt a lot. I would LOVE to be able to tackle a layer cake like some of the ones made by Whisk Kid, so that will definitely have to be put on the to-do-list.

Leading up to my Mum’s birthday, I told her that I wanted to make her whatever she would she like for a ‘birthday cake’, whether it be an actual cake, cupcakes, slice, cookies…whatever really! After a bit of discussion, Mum decided on a cheesecake, which I was more than happy with. I headed straight to my go-to cheesecake recipe, which is actually a recipe for Mars Bar Cheesecake (so yum!), that I like to experiment with and try out different flavours…Crunchie, Turkish Delight, Boost. Is anyone picking up on the pattern here? Yup, there is always chocolate involved! (which actually seems to be a bit of a pattern throughout this blog…oops!).

Another thing that I like about the recipe? It’s not baked! I’m not really a fan of baked cheesecake. I mean, I’ll have it if it is the only dessert option available, but I much rather the non-baked variety that sets in the fridge like this one. And sometimes I like to freeze it, to make it more like an icecream cake…which I wouldn’t be able to do with baked cheesecake!

Cadbury Peppermint Cheesecake
Recipe adapted from All Time Favourites from The Australian Women’s Weekly

250 g Arnott’s Choc Ripple Biscuits
140g butter, melted
3 tsps gelatine
1/4 cup water
375g Philadelphia Cream Cheese
2 tsp vanilla essence
1/2 C caster sugar
300ml thickened cream
200g Cadbury Peppermint Chocolate (each piece chopped in half)

1. Grease base and sides of 24cm springform tin.
2. Process biscuits until finely crushed; add butter, process until just combined.
3. Press biscuit mixture evenly over base and side of the prepared tin. Cover and refridgerate for one hour.
4. Sprinkle gelatine over water in cup, stand in pan of simmering water, stir until dissolved. Cool.
5. Beat cheese, essence and sugar in a bowl with an electric mixer until smooth.
6. Beat cream in a separate small bowl until soft peaks form.
7. Stir gelatine mixture into cheese mixture with peppermint chocolate. Fold in cream.
8. Pour mixture into tin over base. Refridgerate until set.

Recipes yields 8 to 10 slices

Print Button

The light and creamy cheesecake mixture soaks up the chocolate’s flavour so even the base has the slightest hint of peppermint. I can tell you, this went down beautifully after the chinese noodles that Mum decided to have for her birthday dinner. And I’m sure it would be the perfect dessert to match any meal that you choose!

Name

 

8 responses to “cadbury peppermint cheesecake.

  1. I have been waiting for this post since it was your mum’s birthday! ;) I just wish I’d stayed for a few more days so I could have tried some :D Looks so good!

    • I’m sorry, I don’t quite understand your comment? This recipe is adapted (not taken directly) from a cheesecake recipe in All Time Favourites from The Australian Women’s Weekly. I have used a cheesecake recipe from that cookbook and tweaked it to create the Cadbury Peppermint Cheesecake :)

Comments:

