lemon & poppyseed muffins.

I’m baaaaaaaack! Sorry it has been a few weeks between recipes! Things have been a little crazy…I had three assignments due in the one weekend, so all of my time and effort went into these, and unfortunately I had zero time for baking. But! The good news is that now I have only ONE assignment left and then I have finished my degree! Super exciting and a little scary at the same time. I can’t believe how fast these past five years have gone. Even though I still have just that one more assignment to do, I decided it was time for a day off. And time to do some baking!

You may remember me talking about our newly planted apricot tree in my last post? Well, we have had a lemon tree for about six years now, and this year it has just gone CRAZY. It is massive, and has produced so many lemons. Just the other day, I picked all the winter crop from it, as the summer crop has started coming through and the poor tree wasn’t dealing with the weight so well. So, there I was, with a box FULL of lemons, just screaming at me to be used in a recipe (or perhaps, they were screaming at me because I had picked them from their beloved tree…).

Anyway, I jumped on the net and flicked through some of my cookbooks to try and decide on what I wanted to bake. Mum has promised to make lemon merignue pie next week (I love, love, LOVE it!), so I wanted to steer clear of anything like that…lemon meringue slice, lemon meringue cupcakes, and so on. I came across a recipe for orange and poppyseed muffins, and figured that surely I could substitute the orange rind and juice for lemon rind and juice…so lemon and poppyseed muffins were born!

Lemon & Poppyseed Muffins ~eat sweet. by carla sue

CC_Doodle Border 11

Lemon & Poppyseed Muffins
Recipe adapted from taste.com.au

2 Tb poppyseeds
3/4 C milk
2 1/2 C self raising flour
3/4 C caster sugar
125g butter, melted
2 eggs, lightly whisked
1 tsp lemon rind
1/3 C fresh lemon juice

1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees Celsius.
2. Brush a 12 1/3 C capacity non stick muffin pan with butter to lightly grease.
3. Combine the poppyseeds and 1/4 C of the milk in a small bowl. Set aside for 10 minutes.
4. Combine the flour and sugar in a large bowl. Add the poppyseed mixture along with remaining milk, butter, egg, lemon rind and juice, and stir with a metal spoon until just combined (do not overmix).
5. Spoon the batter among prepared muffin pans. Bake for 25 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre of a muffin comes out clean.
6. Serve with cream cheese frosting and a small slice of lemon.

Print Button

CC_Doodle Border 11

These muffins have just the right amount of sweet and sour, and the cream cheese frosting on top not only adds a whole new element, taste and texture, but also make them look just that little bit more fancy.

Happy baking!

Name

29 responses to “lemon & poppyseed muffins.

  1. So close to finishing you can almost taste it huh? Good luck with the final assignment, think of all the free time you’re going to have when you’re done! Love the look of theses little guys, I’m craving all things lemon now!

  2. Ohh my goodness I LOVE lemon poppyseed muffins, but these are the cutest I’ve ever seen!! The presentation with the tiny dollop of frosting and tiny lemon slice is so. Cute. I must have missed this–what kind of degree are you getting? In any case, congrats on nearly being done!!

    • Thank you so much! I am just about to finish my early childhood teaching degree! I must admit, although they would have been perfectly yummy without the frosting, I do like making things look cute :)

    • VERY good point! Thank you so much. And I must agree…I always leave a bit of the frosting to eat at the end :)

  3. Pingback: the top five: your favourites at eat sweet. for 2012! « eat sweet. by carla sue·

  4. Pingback: Sunny Sweets | Be Sweet·

  5. Pingback: Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award | Baking Bohemian·

Comments:

