spiderweb kiss biscuits.

Happy Halloween!

Well, Halloween isn’t massive in Australia like it may be in other parts of the world, but it is certainly catching on. Some people seem to be a bit funny about it because it is ‘so American’, but I think that if it’s a bit of fun, why not?! One year in primary school, my teacher organised a Halloween sleepover at school (now I think back on it, was she crazy?!) and we had SO much fun. It would definitely be one of my favourite memories of school.

A few years ago, my family decided to have a Halloween party, so we went all out…dressing up, making Halloween food and decorating the house with spiders, bats and tombstones. We made most of our decorations, which was a heap of fun. Lucky that my Mum and I enjoy doing things like that, because it was a case of having to…it was quite difficult to find decorations to buy. But this year there has been stuff everywhere! All the supermarkets, department stores and craft stores have all had halloween displays with pumpkins, broomsticks, spiderwebs, and chocolates and lollies.

You know what else is good about Halloween? Cadbury Screme Eggs! Just like the Creme Eggs, but the creme is green!

So, seeing as today was Halloween and I didn’t have to work, I decided to celebrate by making spiderweb kiss biscuits! I love making kiss biscuits…pink icing, sprinkles and filled with jam…

…but these Halloween themed kiss biscuits are a little different! A little on the darker side, but definitely still on the yummy side…

CC_Doodle Border 11

Spiderweb Kiss Biscuits

250g unsalted butter
1 C icing sugar
1 egg, beaten
2 tsp vanilla essence
2 tb cocoa powder
1 C SR flour
2 C plain flour
1 can Nestlé Top ‘n’ Fill Caramel

For the royal icing
1 egg white
2 tsp vanilla essence
1 1/2 – 2 C icing sugar

1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees Celsius. Line baking trays with non-stick baking paper.
2. Cream butter and sugar very well in a bowl. Add egg and essence, and beat in well.
3. Sift flours and cocoa into bowl. Mix with a wooden spoon until combined into a dough.
4. Roll out the dough to a thickness of approximately 0.5cm.
5. Using a 6cm round cookie cutter, cut out rounds from the mixture and place onto the prepared baking tray.
6. Bake for 10 to 15 minutes.
7. When cool, sandwich the biscuits together with Top ‘n’ Fill Caramel.
8. In a bowl, beat the egg white until light and fluffy. Add the vanilla and gradually beat in icing sugar until the icing is the desired consistency for piping.
9. To decorate these biscuits, check out the step-by-step guide at Bake at 350, but use orange and white icing instead.

Recipe yields approximately 26 biscuits.

Print Button

CC_Doodle Border 11

I love creating food with a theme. Any excuse to bake! Now, it must be time to watch Hocus Pocus…

18 responses to “spiderweb kiss biscuits.

  1. This is the first year that I’ve seen kids trick or treating in my area. I’ve even seen a couple of neighbours that have decorated their front yards (probably to let the kids know that it’s OK to come knocking on their door) I think it’s gaining more popularity.

  2. These look absolutely incredible! Yum yum yum!!! Despite living in Australia I think Halloween is a great excuse to whip up some spooky treats :) love your work!

    Chloe & Sarah

  3. So gorgeous! We had trick & treaters arrive during Glee tonight [grrrr] and even though Miss 6 was fast asleep she heard the ‘commotion’ [her words] and came running to see what was happening. She was so excited to see ‘the big kids’ all dressed up :)

  4. These look really great, I love the spiderweb decorations! Halloween is bigger than I’d imagined in Spain too (where I’m studying; I live in the UK), I’d always thought of it as mostly an American thing but I saw so many people here that had obviously put a lot of effort into their costume!

Comments:

