raspberry sorbet.

I was super dooper lucky to find myself on Santa’s nice list for the last year, and was so excited when I woke up on Christmas morning to find that he had left me an icecream maker! I had been eyeing these off for quite some time, trying to decide which was the best one for me to get,. But, I should have known that Santa would always make the right choice. There it was, sitting right near the tree, a bright white, beautiful Cuisinart Icecream Maker…I loooooove it!

I couldn’t wait to get the box open, get the freezer bowl a chillin’ and flick through the recipe book to decide what to make first! So many to choose from, but lets be honest. I decided pretty quickly. And you know what? It wasn’t technically even icecream. After a conversation with a friend at work, who was raving about some raspberry sorbet that she had received as part of a Secret Santa gift, I had been craving some ever since. And as we have raspberries growing in the backyard at the moment, I didn’t even have to buy anything…we had all the ingredients I needed. Perfect!

This is our second year growing raspberries, and it’s safe to say they have gone preeeeeetty crazy. But we are certainly making the most of having them! Our wider family loves it too, especially as we have extras to hand off to them. Small punnets of raspberries are about $6 each at the moment, so we know how lucky we are, and we certainly aren’t taking them for granted! There has been enough this year for my brother to make some into jam, so that was a teensy bit exciting for us all. Oh dear. I’m so easily pleased by food!

And sorbet is no exception. It’s just so smooth and refreshing. Quite thirst quenching really. And so perfect for a hot day.

CC_Doodle Border 11

Raspberry Sorbet
Recipe from the Cuisinart Recipe Booklet

2 Cups water
1 1/2 C sugar
4 cups fresh raspberries (or frozen raspberries, thawed)
Pinch of table salt

1. Prepare a simple syrup with the water and sugar by combining both in a medium saucepan set over medium-low heat. Cook mixture until the sugar is fully dissolved.
2. Once the simple syrup is ready, add the salt and the raspberries.
3. Using an immersion blender, blend the mixture until smooth.
4. Strain half of the mixture through a fine mesh strainer to remove the seeds. Use a spatula to aid in passing the purée through the strainer. Remove seeds and repeat with the second half.
5. Cover and refrigerate 2 to 3 hours.
6. Pour into an icecream maker and follow according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
7. Transfer the sorbet to an airtight container and place in freezer for about 2 hours.
8. Remove from freezer about 15 minutes before serving.

Recipe yields approximately 5 cups (ten 1/2 cup servings).

Print Button

CC_Doodle Border 11

Raspberry Sorbet ~ eat sweet. by carla sue

Making this beautiful raspberry sorbet was only the beginning of my adventures with my new machine…I have since added hokey pokey icecream, lemon sorbet, chocolate gelato and egg nog icecream to the list. Soon, you may see more of these icy creations make an appearance on eat sweet! If only they last long enough to take a photo…

Enjoy!

Name

28 responses to “raspberry sorbet.

  1. Ok, I think I know what I’m putting down on my wishlist this year haha! Your sorbet looks sooo good – especially during this time of year here in Oz too. (For your information, it is almost midnight now, and I suddenly have a craving for sorbet… terrible! :P )

    • Haha…oh I completely understand! I always crave things like that at midnight :P Oh, the amount of times I have gotten icecream from McDonalds…whoops! Thanks for your lovely comment! And I definitely recommend putting a machine on your wishlist ;)

  2. Hi there. The current Food on Friday on Carole’s Chatter is collecting links to posts about ice cream and sorbets – or anything similar like gelato. I do hope you link this in. This is the link . Please do check out some of the other links – there are a lot of good ones already. Have a great week.

  3. Carla Sue , thanks for joining the link up for Food on Friday on Carole’s Chatter. I hope you enjoyed looking at some of the other links. I have been reading them all and must say my ice cream cravings are now almost out of control! Cheers

    Ps I am signing up to follow your blog. A follow back would be great – or maybe you have already?

    Pps If you would like email reminders of future Food on Fridays, just let me know your email address. It will be kept private.

  4. Pingback: Awards and Acknowledgements « Laura's Mess·

  5. Carla Sue!!! Hello, ah, missed your last few posts (I thought that you disappeared my lovely!) but very pleased to have found a whole lot of new deliciousness to drool over. This looks divine. I love sorbet (it seems a little less guilt-inducing than ice cream, whilst also giving that frozen treat hit!). Definitely going to try this whilst the last of the raspberry season is in swing xxx

    • Hello lovely Laura! It’s a bit funny, I was just thinking today that I should pop on here to have a look and see what you have been up to, and here you are! :) I must admit, I have been a bit AWOL…life seemed to get quite busy, and poor ol’ blogging was unfortunately was pushed to the side. But I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things…I’ve missed it! I would definitely recommend trying this while raspberries are still around, it’s so good! And you’re right, it doesn’t seem quite as naughty as ice-cream ;) xo

Comments:

