rainbow rice krispies treats.

Happy 2015 everyone! Another new year. I can’t believe how fast time passes. Although, when I think about what I may have been doing this time last year, it seems forever ago. Time, such a funny thing.

I hope that over the festive season that you were able to smile lots, spend time with those you love the most, and of course have the opportunity to eat sweet. So many beautiful treats! It makes it hard to stop once the new year rolls around.

I was very lucky to have an extremely amazing end to 2014…my family and I travelled over to the United States for a holiday! It was wonderful, yet exhausting, and eye opening, and oh so much more. Beginning in New York, we then headed to Pittsburgh, Washington DC, Chicago, Orlando, San Francisco and then Honolulu. A dream come true. I still can’t believe some of the things we saw, and the places that we visited. And all of the food that we ate. I hope to write some more posts about the food that we ate.

One night after a long and wonderful day at Walt Disney World, I wandered down to the vending machine to find something sweet to finish off my day. I was greeted by many different wonderful American treats, including a Rice Krispies Treat bar! I have made these at home before, and here in Australia we have a similar bar called LCMs, but in front of me was a real, true Rice Krispies Treat! So I just had to buy it. It’s marshmallowy goodness was just what I was after.

Rice Krispies Treats also seem to be somewhat of a specialty at Walt Disney World…they are everywhere, in all different shapes and sizes! I bought home some Mickey shaped ones for gifts, covered in chocolate, sprinkles and even pink and purple chocolate icing…super cute!

Now that we are back home and starting to get back into our normal everyday life, I wanted to recreate a little Disney Magic. And the Rainbow Rice Krispies Treats were born! Ooey, gooey marshmallow pieces, with a slight ‘snap, crackle and pop’, covered in fudgy chocolate and sprinkles.

Rainbow Rice Krispies Treats ~ eat sweet. by carla sue

Rice Krispies Treats
Recipe adapted from ricekrispies.com

3 Tb butter
285g Pascall Marshmallows (Pink and White)
6 C Kellogg’s Rice Bubbles Cereal

For the icing
200g Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate
40g unsalted butter
Sprinkles of your choice

1. Prepare a 20x20cm square pan by lining it with baking paper (I prefer to create an overhang, which results in being able to lift the whole slice out of the pan once set).
2. In a large saucepan melt butter over low heat.
3. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat.
4. Add the Kellogg’s Rice Bubbles to the mixture. Stir until well coated.
5. Using buttered spatula, evenly press mixture into pan.
6. Place in the refrigerator to cool.
7. In a microwave safe bowl, place the chocolate and unsalted butter. Melt on a low to medium heat in the microwave, checking every five to ten seconds to ensure it doesn’t burn.
8. Spread chocolate icing on set rice krispies slice base.
9. Decorate with your choice of sprinkles.
10. When set, cut into 4x4cm size pieces to serve.
11. Store no longer than two days at room temperature in airtight container. Alternatively, store in the refrigerator for up to a week.

NOTE: I chose to use pink and white marshmallows to create a rice krispies treat with a light pink appearance, but you can choose to use what ever colour you would prefer! For the traditional white treats, just use white marshmallows.

Recipes yields 25 pieces

Print Button

Rainbow Rice Krispies Treats ~ eat sweet. by carla sue

With a new year comes lots of new baking adventures. I’m sure there will be new trends, the introduction of different kitchenware products, and plenty of pretty, shiny, beautiful cookbooks released. I hope this year to continue to bake some of my favourites, as well as experiment and try some new things. I hope that you are able to do whatever it is that makes you happy too.

Happy baking!

Name

7 responses to “rainbow rice krispies treats.

  1. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Krispie Bars | ~ happiness is handmade ~·

Comments:

